Maybe it's because I worked for a year in a mom and pop outfitter located a quarter mile from the Appalachian Trail. Maybe it's because I love to learn about stuff--some people attribute this passion to my nerdiness. 

Whatever the reason, I am about to geek out on Camino gear.

Gregory's Cairn Backpack

A backpack was not on my list of things to buy for the trip, but the new design features on the Cairn were too good to pass up. Moreover, the waist-belt is more padded than my Jade 50.

Osprey's Ariel Backpack

Mom's backpack is constructed to carry slightly heavier loads than mine. The shoulder straps and waist belt are more padded; there is an integrated sleeping bag compartment; the brain converts into a lumbar pack.
The main difference I have noticed between Gregory and Osprey packs is how the pack expands. The more gear I put in an Gregory pack, the taller the pack gets, whereas an Osprey pack gets wider. The remaining differences seem to speak to a backpacker's individual system.

Asolo Sunset Approach Shoe

Picture
Last summer I backpacked in a pair of Gore-Tex Salomon's. While I loved the shoes, the toe box was way too big for my foot. I ended up with more blisters than I care to remember.

This shoe laces all the way to the tow, which allows my to adjust fit for the entire length of my foot. Additionally, I can adjust fit throughout the day as the terrain changes and as my feet swell.

Light and low, this shoe shouldn't feel like a lead weight at the end of the day. I like the durability of the protected toe. And, Vibram soles get the job done. Vibram makes a durable, tacky sole to secure footing.

Montrail's AT Plus Fast-Packer

Picture
In 2010, this was one of the two most hot selling shoes in our mom and pop outfitter during thu-hiking season. The AT Plus is more comfortable and lighter than typical hiking boots, but it doesn't sacrifice stability and durability. The sole is rugged.


After searching through the Montrail site, it looks like this shoe has been discontinued.

Interesting note--more and more studies are showing a shoe's sole provides more ankle stability than a high-top lacing system. A way to check for stability is bending and twisting the shoe with your hands. Typically, the more maleable soles provides less ankle stability.

Leki Trekking Poles

Picture
Trekking poles are gear Mom and I decided not skimp on. While I haven't used poles much in the past, I think a 500mi trip warrants their use. The idea behind trekking poles is they help carry some of the load--hiker and bakpack--while encouraging proper posture. The more upright posture a hiker can maintain, the less fatigued her back muscles get and the more deeply she can breathe. 

Why Leki? One former sales associate put it this way, "When I'm trying to by good gear, I look for companies that specialize in one thing. I know that company is putting all its effort into making a solid product." Moreover, Leki poles are durable, and their warranty is great.

Hiking Skirts and Dresses

Picture
There is something freeing about hiking and backpacking in a skirt or dress. Beyond feeling feminine and free, a dress provides for ful range of motion movement and complete air circulation. 

This dress has a mesh back panel that extends up under the arm pits. I am excited to see how it feels under my pack. 

Chargers and Converters

Picture
This battery charger includes a usb jack to charge other devices. Even more exciting is the fact that is comes with a European adapter! Rather than carrying my huge, heavy converter and adapter, which can then only be used by one device at a time, I can carry one relatively light pack.

Mom and I have more gear, of course, but these are the things out about which I have been geeking

--Harmony
Sister
6/14/2013 08:46:38 am

"out about which I have been geeking."
Hahaha what a great way to get a chuckle at the end of the sentence. :)

Reply



Leave a Reply.