We have been busy over here! 

Yesterday Mom and I completed 25.5k (over 15mi) in the day. And, we have nearly reached the halfway mark of our journey, so nearly 400k (250mi). 

The day's hike began with a steep climb--12% grade for 1km. Immediately after the ascent, we walked down for 400m at a 18% grade. As I took my own pace climbing up, I remembered how much I love the challenge of a hill. Mom suprised herself by climbing the whole length without stopping for a sight-seeing break. We celebrated by kicking it in the shade and drinking orange juice before walking down the other side.

The day was hot, in the mid-thirties. The final 6k (about 4mi) to our albergue fell during the hottest part of the day. Somehow and without realizing it, we walked the last stratch in an hour. I am still questioning the numbers glowing from my watch before we began the final six.

We should be in Leon on Sunday--it should be fourty degrees. 

We are meeting incredible people to whom I will introduce you over time.




Leave a Reply.